The fascinating history of Château d’Aqueria begins in 1595, when Louis Joseph d’Aqueria purchased this area of Tavel known as “Puy Sablonneux” from the monks at the Abbey in Villeneuve les Avignon.
This was choice land for vine-growing.
His son, Robert d’Aqueria, hereditary Count Palatine, built a home which was transformed in the 18th century into the Château as it stands today.
After the Count d’Aqueria, many families owned the Château d’Aqueria at different times, building new buildings and developing crops. Throughout, the estate consistently maintained its wine-growing vocation for which this land is so conducive.